Colin Lynch 2.0 – Philae and Rosetta

Colin Lynch 2.0

Philae and Rosetta

  1. Ariane 5
  2. Earth gravity assist
  3. Mars gravity assist
  4. Asteroid 2867 Steins
  5. 21 Lutetia
  6. Jupiter
  7. Hibernation
  8. Awakened
  9. Approach
  10. Comet 67P (Churyumov-Gerasimenko)
  1. A new home

What We Say

Colin Lynch 2.0’s second instrumental album is a musical interpretation and appreciation of the European Space Agency (ESA) Rosetta mission to land a space probe onto the surface of a comet. Each of the compositions takes the listener from the initial launch of the Ariane 5G rocket to the historic landing and final destination of Philae (the lander) and Rosetta (the orbiter) spacecraft on the comet surface.

“I wanted the opening track to have an almost exclusively ‘European’ flavor complete with celebratory arrangements and then let each of the following tracks provoke thoughts of vast distances, isolation, risk, and ultimately shutdown as the project ends.’

Quite the departure from the varying concepts and arrangements we saw Lynch’s debut album ‘Something for the sleeping girl’, Philae and Rosetta remains consistently focused on it’s historical subjects and in the artist’s sincere appreciation of the achievement in space exploration.